Worth Noting - November 2020

People/Awards; Events


The Water Environment Federation has designated 15 members as 2020 WEF Fellows in recognition of their achievements and contributions in the water profession. They were recognized on Oct. 7 during WEFTEC Connect. They are:

James Burks, Missouri Water Environment Association

Paul Causey, California WEA

Val Frenkel, California WEA

Burt Curry, Ohio WEA

Dr. Joel Ducoste, North Carolina WEA

Robert Kukenberger, New York WEA

Dr. Larry Moore, Clean Water Professionals of Kentucky and Tennessee

Dr. Jan Oleszkiewicz, Western Canada WEA

Dr. Eileen O’Neill, Virginia WEA

Michael Pollen, Alaska Water Wastewater Management Association

Charles Tyler, New England WEA

Dr. John Willis, Georgia Association of Water Professionals

Keith McCormack, Michigan WEA

Thomas Meholic, New Jersey WEA

Gary Sober, WEA of Texas

WEF announced its Life Members for 2020:

Edward Clerico, member since 1985, New Jersey WEA

Libby Ford, 1975, New York WEA

Gary E. Loesch, 1976, New York WEA

Thomas Hall, 1977, California WEA

Stephen M. Jenkins, 1984, WEA of Texas

David R. Marrs, 1982, WEA of Texas

James McGregor, 1979, New Jersey WEA

Donald R. Rodgers, 1976, New England WEA

Michael Sweeney, 1982, Florida WEA

Robert Fergen, 1978, Florida WEA

Greg Wilcox, 1980, Illinois WEA

Miles Beach, 1985, Pacific Northwest Clean Water Association

Thomas A. Fishbaugh, 1975, Ohio WEA

Paul Usinowicz, 1985, Ohio WEA

Jeffrey Macfarlane, 1979, WEA of Utah

Jose Marti-Carvajal, 1980, Puerto Rico WEA

Lydia Peri, resources program administrator at Truckee Meadows Water Authority in Nevada, earned the WEF Canham Graduate Studies Scholarship for her work on the OneWater Nevada program.

The Fort Collins Water Treatment Facility earned a 2020 Environmental Stewardship Award from Larimer County, Colorado.

Argyle (Texas) Water Supply Corp. employee John Hammons received a Citizen’s Certificate of Merit from the Argyle Police Department for using his vehicle to stop another vehicle that was out of control because the driver was having a medical emergency.

The U.S. Steel wastewater facility in Granite City won a Best Operated Wastewater Treatment Works award from the Illinois Association of Water Pollution Control Operators. 

Joseph Cotruvo, Ph.D., BCES, received the 2020 Walter F. Snyder Environmental Health Award from NSF International and the National Environmental Health Association for more than 45 years of service. 

The Hardin County Water District No. 2 White Mills Treatment Plant received the Outstanding Water System Operations Award for 2019 from the Kentucky Water and Wastewater Operators Association.

The Halifax County Service Authority Water Treatment Plant received the 2019 Gold Award for Performance and Excellence from the Virginia Department of Health.

Lee Lambert was appointed water resource management director for the city of Surprise, Arizona.

Marjon Souza and Noe Aguilar Vega were appointed to run plant operations for the Summerland (California) Sanitary District after the retirement of Michael Sullivan as general manager.

TPO welcomes your contributions to Worth Noting. To recognize members of your team, please send notices of new hires, promotions, certifications, service milestones or achievements as well as event notices to editor@tpomag.com. 


Nov. 2-4

North Carolina AWWA Section Annual Conference, virtual. Visit www.ncsafewater.org.  

Nov. 2-4

British Columbia Section AWWA Annual Conference, virtual. Visit www.bcwwa.org.  

Nov. 4-6

Nebraska AWWA Section Annual Conference, virtual. Visit www.awwaneb.org.  

Nov. 9-13

Mexico AWWA Section Annual Conference, Mexico City. Visit www.awwa.org.  

Nov. 10-11

AWWA | SWAN International Smart Water Symposium, virtual. Visit www.awwa.org.  

Nov. 29-Dec. 3

Florida Section AWWA Annual Conference, Omni Orlando Resort and ChampionsGate. Visit www.fsawwa.org.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.