Worth Noting - June 2021


The 2020-21 New England Water Environment Association/WEF Award Recipients include:

-Stockholm Junior Water Prize: Colin Speaker, Amara Ifeji, Shreya Nagri

-Scholarship recipients: Kennedy Brown and Anna LeClair, undergraduates, Cassidy Yates, graduate student

-Alfred E. Peloquin Award: Gary Zrelak, Mac Richardson, Keith Bourassa, Ray Gordon, Stephen Buckley, Margaret Dwyer 

-Asset Management Award: John Vogl, Salem, New Hampshire

-Biosolids Management Award: Hawk Ridge Compost

-Clair N. Sawyer Award: Nora Lough, Providence, Rhode Island 

-Committee Service Award: Kate Biedron, Manchester, New Hampshire 

-E. Sherman Chase Award, John Esler, Enfield, New Hampshire 

-Elizabeth A. Cutone Executive Leadership Award: John Sullivan, Roxbury, Massachusetts 

-Energy Management Achievement Award: Greater Lawrence Sanitation District, North Andover, Massachusetts

-Founders Award: Jeanette Brown, Darien, Connecticut

-James J. Courchaine Collection Systems Award: Don Kennedy, Lowell, Massachusetts

-Operator Award: Mark Bukowski, Windsor Locks, Connecticut; Scott Lausier, Sanford, Maine; Carl Thurston, Chicopee, Massachusetts; Ray McNeil, Rollinsford, New Hampshire; Jose Da Silva, Bristol, Rhode Island; Marty Frizzell, Brighton, Vermont

-Operator Safety Award: Shannon Eyler, Portland, Maine

-Past President’s Plaque and Pin: Ray Vermette, Dover, New Hampshire 

-Paul Keough Award: Bonnie Combs, Whitinsville, Massachusetts 

-Wastewater Utility Award: Montville WPCA, Uncasville, Connecticut 

-Young Professional Award: Kate Roosa, Boston 

-Youth Educator Award: Kerry Reed, Framingham, Massachusetts 

NEWEA Committee awards:

-Crystal Crucible: Walter Palm, Providence, Rhode Island

-Golden Manhole: Tom Loto, Amston, Connecticut

-Golden Raindrop: Amy Schofield, Roxbury, Massachusetts

-Green Steps: RMI 

WEF-Massachusetts awards:

-Arthur Sidney Bedell Award: Dennis Palumbo, Stamford, Connecticut

-Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award: Andy Wendell, Newport, Maine

-Operations Challenge Competition: Division II, Third Place Overall, Force Maine

-William D. Hatfield Award: Jeff Gamelli, Westfield, Massachusetts

-WEF Student Design Competition: Samantha Kinnaly, Kate Engler, Annie Lamonte and Emma Totsubo, Northeastern University; and Ian Kosnik, Jake Senecal, Olivia Nachbauer and Sam Mikell, University of Vermont

-WEF Fellow: Charles Tyler, Sherborn, Massachusetts

TPO welcomes your contributions to Worth Noting. To recognize members of your team, please send notices of new hires, promotions, certifications, service milestones or achievements as well as event notices to editor@tpomag.com. 


June 1-2

British Columbia AWWA Section Virtual Conference. Visit www.bcwwa.org.

June 2

New AWWA Water Audit Software v6: Advancing State-of-the-Art KPIs to Propel Water Loss Performance Webinar. Visit www.awwa.org.

June 7-9

California WEA 2021 Annual Conference, online. Visit www.cwea.org.

June 9

AWWA Incorporating Diversity, Equity and Inclusion into Your Workforce Development Strategy Webinar. Visit www.awwa.org.

June 9-10 and 15-16

WEF Innovations in Process Engineering 2021: A Virtual Event. Visit www.wef.org.

June 13-16

ACE21, San Diego (California) Convention Center, California. Visit www.awwa.org.

June 20-23

PennTec Annual Conference and Exhibition (Pennsylvania WEA), Kalahari Resorts Poconos, Pocono Manor. Visit www.mms.pwea.org.

June 22-23

Stormwater Summit 2021: A Virtual Event. Visit www.wef.org.

June 27-30

Michigan WEA Annual Conference, Boyne Mountain Resort, Boyne Falls. Visit www.mi-wea.org.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.