Worth Noting - December 2018


The Lincoln County Sanitation District received the 2018 H2O Award for outstanding wastewater project from the Kentucky Infrastructure Authority. The project involves construction of a collections and conveyance system to serve 535 residential customers and 50 commercial customers in western Lincoln County.

The American Public Works Association announced its 2018 Public Works Projects of the Year. Among the honorees were: more than $75 million, Chambers Creek Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant expansion (Pierce County, Washington); and $5 million-$25 million, Dixie Drain Phosphorus Removal Facility (Boise, Idaho).

Jeffrey Rose was named director of the wastewater systems division for the Chattanooga (Tennessee) Department of Public Works.

The Town of Plain Dealing received North Zone Wastewater System of the Year honors from the Louisiana Rural Water Association.

The Town of Nederland received a $950,000 grant from the Colorado Department of Local Affairs for improvements at its wastewater treatment facility. The project will add an aerobic digester and a screw press.

The Pennsylvania Water Environment Association presented its 2018 Utility Leadership Excellence Award to Mike Kyle, executive director of the Lancaster Area Sewer Authority.

The Water Environment Federation announced the 2018 WEF Awards recipients for education:

  • Canham Graduate Studies Scholarship: Christopher Evan Lawson, University of Wisconsin–Madison.
  • Fair Distinguished Engineering Educator Medal: Dr. Paul Westerhoff, Arizona State University.
  • Public Communication and Outreach Program Awards, Individual: Shea Dunifon, education coordinator, South Cross Bayou Water Reclamation Facility, Pinellas County, Florida.
  • Public Communication and Outreach Program Awards, Member Association: Japan Sewage Works Association, The Secrets of Wastewater.
  • Public Communication and Outreach Program Awards, Other: Baltimore City Department of Public Works, YH20 Youth Water Mentoring Program.

Jared Cummons, superintendent of utilities in Bridgeport, received the 2018 Wastewater Operator of the Year award from the West Virginia Rural Water Association.

The City of Long Beach and the Bainbridge Island Wastewater Treatment Plant received 2017 Washington Department of Ecology Wastewater Treatment Plant Outstanding Performance Awards.

The Water Environment Federation announced the 2018 WEF Awards for individual contributions:

  • Public Officials Award: Gov. Brian Sandoval of Nevada.
  • Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award: Ryan LeBlanc, WEF and North Carolina American Water Works Association member.
  • Outstanding Member Association Award: Pacific Northwest Clean Water Association.
  • Water Heroes Awards: North Port (Florida) Utilities Department; Jacobs operations teams in Key West, Pembroke Pines, The Villages and West Melbourne.

The North Platte Wastewater Treatment Facility received the 2017 Scott Wilbur Outstanding Facility Award from the Nebraska Water Environment Association.

Glasgow Water won the Best Tasting Water Contest held by the Kentucky Rural Water Association.

Doug Smith, assistant general manager and chief engineer at the Morgantown Utility Board, was named to head the West Virginia Rural Water Association.

Scott Dunn, senior water treatment plant operator for the Olympic View Water & Sewer District, was recognized for reaching the Silver Level of the Washington Department of Health Treatment Optimization Program.

The Pennsylvania American Water’s Shady Lane Water Treatment Plant in East Vincent received the Phase III Directors Award from the Partnership for Safe Water.

Jim Bromka, manager of the Waterloo (New York) water treatment facility received a Founders Award from the Seneca Lake Pure Waters Association and Rep. Tom Reed.

The water treatment plant in Forest City received an Area Wide Optimization Award from the North Carolina Public Water Supply. 


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.