Worth Noting - April 2016

People/Awards; Calendar


Steve Graceffa retired as the executive director of the Rock River (Illinois) Water Reclamation District. Graceffa joined the district in January 1970.

Lamont Larkins of St. Augustine, Illinois, was hired as wastewater treatment operator in Redgranite, Wisconsin. He replaces Tom Markowski, who retired after more than 20 years of employment with the village.

Clayton Putnam retired as superintendent of the Wilton (Maine) Water and Wastewater Departments.

Dean Nelson, superintendent of the Owatonna (Minnesota) Wastewater Treatment Plant, received the Dick Hagemeyer Award from the National Weather Service to mark 45 years as an NWS Cooperative Weather Observer.

The Ellensburg Wastewater Treatment Facility received an Outstanding Performance Award from the Washington State Department of Ecology.

The Village of Bosque Farms Wastewater Treatment Plant received the New Mexico Rural Wastewater Association Wastewater Treatment System of the Year award for consistent quality control and monitoring of effluent released to the Rio Grande.

Megan O’Brien was hired as community services manager for the wastewater division of the office of Macomb County (Michigan) Public Works Commission. She replaces Mark Steenbergh, who was promoted to operations manager of the wastewater division.

The City of Tulsa (Oklahoma) Lower Bird Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant received a Platinum Peak Performance Award from the National Association of Clean Water Agencies.

Edward Tadlock completed the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service Certified Water Professional program.

Three Cape Fear Public Utility Authority staff members received 2015 awards from the North Carolina section AWWA and Water Environment Association. Robert Daughtry, collections system manager, received the Wastewater Collections Operator of the Year award. Jim Tayson, water distribution and construction manager, was named Water Distribution Operator of the Year. Michael Richardson, water resource manager, was the first individual recipient of the Disaster Preparedness Award.

John Montgomery, a businessman and native of Spartanburg, South Carolina, was elected chair of the city’s Commission of Public Works. Horace Littlejohn was elected vice chair.

The Clarksburg Water Board named meter technician John D’Anselmi Employee of the Year. D’Anselmi has been instrumental in changing the utility’s meters to remote read.

Graham Rich, chief executive officer of Central Arkansas Water in Little Rock, resigned to take a job in his home state of South Carolina.
Kathleen Yurchak was hired as director of operations and water utilities for the City of Pleasanton, California.

Michelle Klose was named director of utilities in the Public Works Department of Bismarck, North Dakota. She replaces Keith Demke, who retired.

Rob Schab, general manager of the Coos Bay-North Bend (Oregon) Water Board for 22 years, retired at the end of 2015. New general manager Ivan Thomas came from Asheville, North Carolina.

The City of Cayce received the South Carolina Area-Wide Optimization Program Award for the Cayce Water Treatment Plant.

The Advanced Oxidation Process (AOP) Water Treatment Facility at Tucson (Arizona) Water won the 2015 Grand Prize in Design Award from the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES). The city installed a new advanced oxidation process water treatment facility using six TrojanUVPhox units.

Jake Hahn, district technician at the Clermont Soil & Water Conservation District, was named Technician of the Year by the Water Management Association of Ohio.

The Hillsdale Water Treatment Facility in Gardner received a Quality Achievement Award from Oral Health Kansas and the Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Oral Health for its high-quality fluoridation practice.

The New England Water Environment Association presented BettyAnne Rogers with the 2015 Water Environment Federation Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award and named Patrick Doyle Operator of the Year. Both are longtime employees of the Warwick (Rhode Island) Sewer Authority.

The City of Maryville Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant received the inaugural M.L. Brickey Award for water/wastewater facilities from the Lower East Tennessee Section of the Tennessee Water and Wastewater Association. Joe Head, utility construction inspector supervisor, received the 2015 M.L. Brickey Distribution Operator Award.

TPO welcomes your contributions to this listing. To recognize members of your team, please send notices of new hires, promotions, service milestones, certifications or achievements to editor@tpomag.com.


April 3-6 - Water Environment Federation Residuals and Biosolids Conference, Wisconsin Center, Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Visit www.wef.org or call 800/462-9420.

April 4-6 - AWWA Financial Management: Cost of Service Rate-Making Seminar, Four Points By Sheraton Phoenix North, Arizona. Visit www.awwa.org.

April 10-12 - Water Environment Association of Ontario Annual Conference, Scotiabank Convention Centre, Niagara Falls. Visit www.weao.org.

April 10-13 - Alabama Water Environment Association Annual Technical Conference, Perdido Beach Resort, Orange Beach. Visit www.awea-al.com or call 205/330-0098.

April 18-20 - Illinois Association of Water Pollution Control Operators Annual Conference, Crown Plaza, Springfield. Visit www.iawpco.org or call 815/303-3745.

April 18-21 - Alaska Water Wastewater Management Association Annual Statewide Conference, Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage. Visit www.awwma.org or call 907/561-9777.

April 19-22 - Water Environment Association of Texas, Texas Water 2016, Fort Worth Convention Center. Visit www.weat.org.

April 20-21 - Nebraska Water Environment Association Annual Great Plains Waste Management Conference, Embassy Suites, La Vista. Visit www.ne-wea.org.

April 20-22 - Design-Build for Water/Wastewater Conference, sponsored by the Water Environment Federation and the Design-Build Institute of America, Charlotte (North Carolina) Convention Center. Visit www.wef.org or www.dbia.org.

April 24-27 - Florida Water Environment Association, Florida Water Resources Conference, Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee. Visit www.fwea.org.

April 26-29 - California Water Environment Association Annual Conference, Santa Clara Convention Center and Hyatt Hotel. Visit www.cwea.org or call 510/382-7800, ext. 107.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.