Exam Study Guide: Turbidity Levels

Interested in Education/Training?

Get Education/Training articles, news and videos right in your inbox! Sign up now.

Education/Training + Get Alerts

When faced with a licensing exam, don't struggle with test anxiety! Use the question below and others from our Exam Study Guide series to study and prepare for exam questions. Take a look at this sample water treatment licensing question along with an explanation of the correct answer.

Sample question:

The industry has approved several filtration technologies, but some are better than others. However, all filtration techniques require finished water quality standards. Typically, three turbidity (NTU) levels guide operations and maintenance.  1) MCL NTU 2) Action NTU and 3) Terminate NTU.

What are those levels?
A)    0.5, 1.0, 3.0
B)    0.3, 1.0, 5.0
C)    0.1, 0.5, 1.0
D)    0.5, 1.3, 3.5

The standard NTU is 0.3, which should not be exceeded in 95 percent of your reportable NTU results. At 1.0 NTUs, public notice is usually required, but this will be directed by the local health department. At 5.0 NTUs, treatment must be stopped and the filter taken out of service until repaired, replaced or an alternative treatment system has been activated.

So, the correct answer is B.


About the author
Mike Smith is program coordinator and lead faculty of the Water Quality Management program at Red Rocks Community College in Lakewood, Colo.

He has been in charge of the multi-faceted training program since 1996.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.