Worth Noting - March 2019

People/Awards; Calendar


James Donison was hired as Public Works director for Lebanon, New Hampshire. He replaces Michael Lavalla, who retired.

Mike Prinz was hired as general manager of the Las Gallinas Valley (California) Sanitary District.

Freese and Nichols hired Karen G. Perez to lead its wastewater, water and stormwater expansion efforts in the metropolitan area of El Paso, Texas.

Nathan Brockman was hired as plant superintendent for the City of Eagle Grove (Iowa) Wastewater Plant.

Dennis Porter was hired as utilities director for the Boulder City, Nevada.

The Wisconsin Wastewater Operators’ Association announced these scholarships and awards winners:

  • Crane Engineering Scholarship: Victoria “Tori” Vouk
  • Wisconsin Wastewater Operators’ Association Scholarships: Bradley Prust and Shawn Magee
  • North Central Labs Scholarship: Bryce Maoney and Daniel Lefebvre
  • Regional Operator of Year Award (Southern): Kevin Bliss
  • Regional Operator of the Year Award (North Central): Casey Jakubek
  • Regional Operator of the Year Award (Northwest): Jaden Ebert
  • Regional Operator of the Year Award (West Central): Dan Burns
  • Regional Operator of the Year Award (Southeast): Patrick J. Nolan
  • Regional Operator of the Year Award (Lake Michigan): Craig Lawniczak
  • Newcomer of the Year: Matt Seib
  • George Bernauer Award: Rusty Schroedel
  • Koby Crabtree Award: Jim Miller
  • Service Award: Dean Faulkner
  • Membership Award: Jeff Simpson 

The Delaware Center for the Inland Bays awarded Sussex County government its Friend of the Bays honor for its work over the past 40 years to promote and build centralized wastewater service to communities surrounding the Inland Bays.

The Alaska Rural Water Association announced these award recipients:

  • Wastewater Operator of the Year (under 1,000 population): Ben Eisen, Lower Kuskokwim School District
  • Wastewater Operator of the Year (over 1,000 population): Richard Klopp, City of Homer
  • Wastewater System of the Year (under 1,000 population): City of Klawock
  • Wastewater System of the Year (over 1,000 population): City of Wasilla

The Norfolk (Nebraska) Wastewater Treatment Plant has received these awards:

Nebraska Water Environment Association Scott Wilbur Outstanding Facility Award (14th consecutive year)

Nebraska Water Environment Association Gold Safety Award (14th consecutive year)

Water Environment Federation George W. Burke Jr. Facility Safety Award.

In addition, Todd Boling, wastewater superintendent, received the WEF Service Award for his work as the national WEF Delegate at Large. That included chairing the House of Delegates Nominating Committee and serving on the WEF National Nominating Committee.

The City of Fremont, Nebraska, had the Best-Tasting Treated Water at the 2018 Nebraska American Water Works Association Conference. The city also received the Silver Safety Award and the 2018 Scott Wilbur Outstanding Facility Award for its wastewater treatment plant.

The Orange County Water District received the Huell Howser Best in Blue Award from the Association of California Water Agencies for its Groundwater Replenishment System Bottled Water Outreach Program, aimed at increasing public acceptance of indirect potable reuse as a drinking water source.

West Virginia American Water’s Huntington Water System received a 20-Year Director’s Award from the Partnership for Safe Water.

Henry N. Wochholz, a business and community leader who served for 41 years on board of directors of the Yucaipa Valley (California) Water District, passed at age 92. He is best known for leading a 15-year battle to build a sewer system to protect Yucaipa Valley’s groundwater from failing septic systems and degrading groundwater supplies.

Ed Saxon, general manager of the Beaufort-Jasper (South Carolina) Water and Sewer Authority, retired after a 30-year career. Joe Mantua is his successor.

The Fairfax County (Virginia) Board of Supervisors appointed Randy Bartlett to lead the Department of Public Works and Environmental Services to succeed James Patteson, who retired.

The Hebron (Ohio) Water Treatment Plant received a Cooperative Weather Observer Award for providing weather observations to the National Weather Service for 25 years.

The City of Bartlesville, Oklahoma, received a Water Fluoridation Quality Award from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Michelle De Haan, water manager in the Park City (Utah) Water Department, received an Emerald Erlenmeyer Award from the AWWA for her work in drinking water research.


Feb. 25-March 1

Rural Water Association of Utah Annual Conference, Dixie Convention Center, St. George, Utah. Visit www.rwau.net.  

March 3-5

AWWA/WEF 2019 Young Professionals Summit, Renaissance Nashville Hotel, Tennessee. Visit www.awwa.org.  

March 5-8

Utility Management Conference, presented by WEF and AWWA, Renaissance Nashville Hotel. Visit www.wef.org or www.awwa.org.  

March 26-28

Kansas Rural Water Association Annual Conference and Exhibition, Century II Convention Center, Wichita, Kansas. Visit www.century2.org .  

March 31-April 3

AWWA Sustainable Water Management Conference, Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, Tucson, Arizona. Visit www.awwa.org.

TPO welcomes your contributions to Worth Noting. Email editor@tpomag.com.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.