Worth Noting - December 2009

People/Awards; Education; Calendar


Jen Thoreson received the Laboratory Operator Award from the Minne-sota Wastewater Operators Association.

Iowa Water Pollution Control Association award recipients include:

• Mark McGuire, Arthur Sidney Bedell Award

• Tim Snyder, William D. Hatfield Award

Central States Water Environment Association award recipients include:

• Dan Busch, Green Bay Metropolitan Sewerage District, William D. Hatfield Award

• Western Lake Superior Sanitary District, George W. Burke Jr. Facility Safety Award

• Jim Roth, Arthur Sidney Bedell Award

• Darsey Thoen (Moorhead, Minn.), Paul Christensen (Fort Atkinson, Wis.) and Ralph Pfister (Yorkville-Bristol Sanitary District), Operations Award

• SunOpta Ingredients Inc., Industrial Environmental Achievement Award

• Rachel M. Lee, Young Professional of the Year

• Mark Zimmerman, City of Janesville, Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award

• Rick D. Pace, City of Racine, Quarter Century Operators Club

• Max Anderson, University of Wisconsin-Platteville, Bill Boyle Educator of the Year Award

• Petia Tontcheva (University of Illinois) and Kathryn Weissman (Illinois Institute of Technology), Academic Excellence Award

• Joshua Gable, Nick Bartolerio, Daniel Bauknetch, Michael Sargent, Kevin Ziolo and Hiroko Yoshida (University of Wisconsin) and Adam Both, Eric Hettler, Steve Hankey and Grete Schmalle (University of Minnesota), Student Design Competition

TPO welcomes your contributions to this “People” listing. To recognize members of your plant team, please send notices of new hires, promotions, service milestones, certifications or achievements to editor@tpomag.com.


Kansas Water Environment Association

The KWEA has these seminars:

• Dec. 2 – Safety, Dodge City

• Dec. 2 – Advanced Wastewater, Humboldt

• Dec. 2 – Small Systems Wastewater Operations, Hays

• Dec. 3-4 – Programmable Logic Controllers, Manhattan

• Dec. 4-5 – Ethics, Medicine Lodge

• Dec. 9 – Applied Math for Wastewater Operators, Liberal

• Dec. 11-12 – Natural Systems for Wastewater Treatment, Goodland

• Dec. 16 – Ethics, Liberal

• Dec. 17-18 – Wastewater District School, Emporia

• Dec. 17-18 – Motors and Drives, Olathe

• Dec. 18-19 – Wastewater Reclamation and Reuse, Dodge City

• Dec. 30 – Small Systems Wastewater, Dodge City

• Jan. 7 – Small Systems Wastewater, Garden City

• Jan. 13 – Waste Stabilization Ponds, Dodge City

• Jan. 14 – Small Wastewater Systems, Clearwater

• Jan. 16 – Small Systems Wastewater Operations, Goodland

• Jan. 22-23 – Stormwater Management, Hays

• Jan. 27 – Membranes for Wastewater Treatment, Garden City

• Jan. 28-29 – Activated Sludge, Pittsburg

• Jan. 29-30 – Wastewater Reclamation and Reuse, Medicine Lodge

Visit www.kwea.net.

Missouri Water Environment Association

The MWEA has these workshops:

• Dec. 9 – Operations and Maintenance Workshop, Moberly

• Dec. 10 – Operations and Maintenance Workshop, Farmington

Visit www.mwea.org.

New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission

The NEIWPCC has these seminars in Maine:

• Dec. 9 – Basic Electricity, Yarmouth

• Dec. 15 – Bearing Maintenance and Installation, Boothbay

Visit www.jetcc.org.

North Carolina American Water Works Association

The NCAWWA has a seminar on Effective Management for Efficient Operation in the Water and Wastewater Industry Today in Browns Summit on Dec. 10. Visit www.ncsafewater.org.

Ohio Water Environment Association

The OWEA has a Biosolids Specialty Workshop in Columbus on Dec. 10. Visit www.ohiowea.org.

Texas Water Utilities Association

The TWUA has a safety seminar in Waco Dec. 1-3. Visit www.twua.org.


Jan. 31-Feb. 3

New York Water Environment Association Annual Meeting, Marriott Marquis, New York. Visit www.nywea.org.

Feb. 24-27

Pumper & Cleaner Environmental Expo International, Kentucky Exposition Center, Louisville, Ky. Call 800/257-7222 or visit www.pumpershow.com.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.