Water Utilities Commended For Transformational Programming

The forward-thinking initiatives of 65 water utilities are being recognized as they reimagine partnering and engagement, watershed stewardship, and recovery of resources such as water, energy and nutrients.

The Utility of the Future Today recognition program celebrates the achievements of water utilities that transform from a traditional wastewater treatment system to a resource recovery center and leader in the overall sustainability and resilience of the communities they serve.

Utility of the Future Today was launched in 2016 by the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA), the Water Environment Federation (WEF), The Water Research Foundation (WRF) and the WateReuse Association, with input from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

The Utility of the Future concept is being promoted as water systems around the world are transforming operations through innovation and technology. The 65 utilities recognized this year are recovering resources from wastewater, leading community engagement, forming unique partnerships, and building an internal culture of innovation.

“The transformational approach to utility management each of the Utility of Future Today honorees has shown benefits communities in several significant ways,” says WEF President Jackie Jarrell. “We are delighted to celebrate the impact of these utilities and proud to recognize their leadership in water sector innovation.”

These utilities are being recognized for the first time:

  • Anne Arundel County (Maryland) Department of Public Works, Bureau of Utility Operations
  • Austin Water (Austin, Texas)
  • Capitol Region Watershed District (St. Paul, Minnesota)
  • Central Arkansas Water (Little Rock, Arkansas)
  • City of Altamont Springs (Altamont Springs, Florida)
  • City of Berryville Wastewater Treatment Plant (Berryville, Arkansas)
  • City of Boca Raton Utility Services (Boca Raton, Florida)
  • City of Edmonds (Edmonds, Washington)
  • City of Oceanside (Oceanside, California)
  • City of Pismo Beach (Pismo Beach, California)
  • City of Portland Bureau of Environmental Services (Portland, Oregon)
  • City of Zeeland Clean Water Plant (Zeeland, Michigan)
  • Douglasville-Douglas County Water and Sewer Authority (Douglasville, Georgia)
  • Eastern Municipal Water District (Perris, California)
  • EPCOR USA (Phoenix, Arizona)
  • Global Water Resources (Phoenix, Arizona)
  • Holland Board of Public Works (Grand Rapids, Michigan)
  • Irvine Ranch Water District (Irvine, California)
  • Kinross Charter Township (Grand Rapids, Michigan)
  • Lehigh County Authority (Allentown, Pennsylvania)
  • Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (Los Angeles, California)
  • McAllen Public Utility (McAllen, Texas)
  • Moulton Niguel Water District (Aliso Viejo, California)
  • Orange County Utilities (Orlando, Florida)
  • Padre Dam Municipal Water District (Santee, California)
  • Puttman Infrastructure Inc. (Portland, Oregon)
  • Ray Bullard Water Reclamation Facility (West Melbourne, Florida)
  • San Marcos Wastewater Treatment Plant (San Marcos, Texas)
  • Silicon Valley Clean Water (Redwood City, California)
  • South Platte Renewal Partners (Englewood, Colorado)
  • Southern Nevada Water Authority (Las Vegas, Nevada)
  • The Oakland County Water Resources Commissioner's Office (Waterford, Michigan)
  • Truckee Meadows Water Authority (Reno, Nevada)
  • Water Replenishment District (Lakewood, California)
  • West Basin Municipal Water District (Carson, California)

These utilities are being recognized for a second year but for a new area of performance:

  • City of San Luis Obispo Utilities Department (San Luis Obispo, California)
  • City of Tacoma, Environmental Services Department, Wastewater Utility (Tacoma, Washington)
  • Fairfax County Wastewater Management (Lorton, Virginia)
  • Glenbard Wastewater Authority (Glen Ellyn, Illinois)
  • Hampton Roads Sanitation District (Virginia Beach, Virginia)
  • LA Sanitation and Environment (Los Angeles, California)
  • Metropolitan Council (St. Paul, Minnesota)
  • Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Narragansett Bay Commission (Providence, Rhode Island)
  • Pima County Regional Wastewater Reclamation Department (Tucson, Arizona)
  • Spartanburg Water (Spartanburg, South Carolina)
  • University Area Joint Authority (State College, Pennsylvania)
  • Benton Harbor-St. Joseph Joint Wastewater Treatment Plant (St. Joseph, Michigan)
  • Western Monmouth Utilities Authority (Manalapan, New Jersey)
  • Broward County Water and Wastewater Operations – North Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant (Pompano Beach, Florida)
  • Watercare Services Ltd (Auckland, New Zealand)

These utilities are being recognized for a third year and in a new area of performance:

  • Albuquerque Bernalillo County Water Utility Authority (Albuquerque, New Mexico)
  • Delta Diablo, (Antioch, California)
  • Great Lakes Water Authority (Detroit, Michigan)
  • Houston Water (Houston, Texas)
  • King County Wastewater Treatment Division (Seattle, Washington)
  • Orange County Sanitation District (Fountain Valley, California)
  • San Francisco Public Utilities (San Francisco, California)
  • Toho Water Authority (Kissimmee, Florida)
  • Renewable Water Resources (Greenville, South Carolina)

These utilities are being recognized for a fourth year and in a new area of performance:

  • Charlotte Water (Charlotte, North Carolina)
  • City of St. Cloud Public Utilities (St. Cloud, Minnesota)
  • City of Tucson Water (Tucson, Arizona)

These utilities are being recognized for a fifth year and in a new area of performance:

  • City of Fayetteville (Fayetteville, Arkansas)
  • Clean Water Services (Hillsboro, Oregon)

Honorees will be recognized during a pre-recorded awards ceremony Oct. 9 at 11 a.m. Eastern Time during WEFTEC Connect.

For more information, visit http://www.wef.org/utility-of-the-future.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.