American Water Receives 22 National Awards for Excellence in Water Quality

Interested in Education/Training?

Get Education/Training articles, news and videos right in your inbox! Sign up now.

Education/Training + Get Alerts

American Water Works Company Inc., the largest publicly traded U.S. water and wastewater utility company, has received 22 Partnership for Safe Water awards. The awards, which recognize water treatment facilities that have achieved higher than required water quality standards, were presented during the 2016 American Water Works Association Annual Conference in Chicago.

Nationally, more than 400 surface water treatment plants participate in U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Partnership for Safe Water Program, a voluntary effort that is designed to increase protection against microbial contamination through treatment optimization. American Water accounts for about 20 percent of the participating plants nationwide.

Pennsylvania American Water received six Phase IV Presidents Award recognitions at the following treatment plants:

  • Bangor Water Treatment Plant
  • Brownell Water Treatment Plant
  • Crystal Lake Water Treatment Plant
  • Gerald C. Smith Water Treatment Plant (Hershey WTP)
  • Indiana Water Treatment Plant (Two Lick Creek)
  • Nesbitt Water Purification Plant

Phase IV goals are the highest possible level of performance that can be achieved in the four-phase program. The Presidents Award recognizes achieving Phase IV’s very stringent individual filter performance goals for turbidity. Pennsylvania American Water now has nine surface water treatment plants that have received the Phase IV Presidents Award. 

Pennsylvania American Water’s Rock Run Water Treatment Plant was recognized with a Phase III Directors Award for its Treatment Program.

In addition, Pennsylvania American Water’s Stony Garden Water Treatment Plant (Blue Mountain System) was recognized for maintaining the Phase III Directors Award status for five years.

The following American Water treatment plants were recognized for maintaining the Phase III Directors Award status for 15 years:

Illinois American Water

  • Pontiac Illinois River Water Treatment Plant (Peoria District WTP)

Indiana American Water

  • Muncie-White River Water Treatment Plant

Iowa American Water

  • East River Station Water Treatment Plant

New Jersey American Water

  • Jumping Brook Water Treatment Plant

Pennsylvania American Water

  • Brownsville Water Treatment Plant
  • Crystal Lake Water Treatment Plant
  • Kane Water Treatment Plant
  • Lake Scranton Water Treatment Plant
  • Norristown Water Treatment Plant
  • Punxsutawney Filter Plant (Big Run)
  • Susquehanna Water Treatment Plant
  • Watres Water Treatment Plant
  • White Deer Creek Water Treatment Plant

West Virginia American Water

  • West Virginia – Ada Water Treatment Plant (Bluefield)

American Water accounts for about 50 percent of the plants receiving the 15-Year Phase III Award.

About American Water
Founded in 1886, American Water is the largest publicly traded U.S. water and wastewater utility company. Marking its 130th anniversary this year, the company employs more than 6,700 dedicated professionals who provide regulated and market-based drinking water, wastewater and other related services to about 15 million people in 47 states and Ontario, Canada. More information can be found at  


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.