Maine Wastewater Association Awards Students for Poster Contest

Maine Wastewater Association Awards Students for Poster Contest
Contest winners proudly display their winning posters. From left, first place winner Sofie Irons, MWWCA Second Vice President Tom Connolly, second place winner Nick Rocray, MWWCA First Vice President Aubrey Strause, third place winner Faith Ledge and MWWCA Public Relations Chair Matt Timberlake.

Interested in Education/Training?

Get Education/Training articles, news and videos right in your inbox! Sign up now.

Education/Training + Get Alerts

In 1983 the Maine Legislature made provisions to designate the first full week of June as Maine Clean Water Week. Maine Clean Water Week was created to increase the public’s awareness of the improvements made in the quality of Maine’s waterways. One of the primary reasons our waterways have so greatly improved is due to the hard work of Maine’s collection system and wastewater treatment plant personnel. 

In recognition of Maine Clean Water Week, June 3-7, 2013, the Maine Wastewater Control Association (MWWCA) again sponsored a poster competition for students in Grade 3-8. The theme of the competition was “What Clean Water Means To Me.” 

This year nearly 300 posters were received from throughout the state, and at the MWWCA spring conference winning posters were selected by the membership including the three top posters. The winners will be honored at the Maine Wastewater Control Association’s 2013 Fall Convention or at a school assembly, and receive cash prizes. Additionally the top twelve posters will once again be featured in the 2014 MWWCA calendar. 

The posters were judged by spring conference attendees and it was evident that water colors and a true Maine theme were big hits with the members as all three winning posters selected were from Ms. Haven’s 6th grade class at Massabesic Middle School in East Waterboro. Haven’s class all used very colorful designs and shared a great message about what water means to them. 

Winning posters were submitted by Sofie Irons, first place; Nick Rocray, second place; and Faith Ledger, third place. 


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.