Worth Noting - January 2022


The Water Environment Federation announced 15 members as its 2021 class of WEF Fellows. They include:

Janet Hurley Cann, Water Environment Association of South Carolina 

Peter Cavagnaro, Michigan Water Environment Association 

Sylvan Coles, Kansas Water Environment Association

Marlo R. Davis, Water Environment Association of Utah 

Francis De Los Reyes III, North Carolina Water Environment Association 

Jennifer Hartfelder and Sidney Innerebner, Rocky Mountain Water Environment Association 

Jacqueline Jarrell, North Carolina Water Environment Association 

Chris Johnston, British Columbia Water and Waste Association 

Raynetta Curry Marshall, Florida Water Environment Association

Kristin Morico, New England Water Environment Association 

Erin Mosley, Louisiana Water Environment Association 

Aisha Niang, Water Environment Association of Texas 

Christopher Peot, Chesapeake Water Environment Association 

Prakasam Tata, Illinois Water Environment Association

Wastewater technician Todd Jennings completed his 35th year as operator at the Town of Hillsville (Virginia) Wastewater Treatment Plant.

Three members of the Town of Purcellville wastewater treatment staff were recognized by the Virginia Rural Water Association: Adam Bailey, Wastewater Rookie of the Year; Jason Chapman, System Operator Specialist of the Year; and Kristen Muller, Lab Technician of the Year.

The Lincoln Transportation and Utilities Wastewater System in Nebraska received the Engineering News Record Regional Best Projects 2021 Water Award of Merit, the third award the organization has won for its project to turn biogas into renewable natural gas for vehicle fuel.

The Water Environment Federation announced recipients of its 2021 Awards for Operational and Design Excellence:

Collection Systems Award: Angela Charles, Charlotte, North Carolina; and George Kurz, Chattanooga, Tennessee

Morgan Operational Solutions Award: Michael Parsons, Hampton Roads Sanitation District

Project Excellence Award: Longmont (Colorado) Biogas Treatment and RNG Fueling Station; Metro Wastewater Reclamation District (Denver), Nuisance Struvite and Dewaterability Improvements; and Peirce Island Wastewater Treatment (Portsmouth, New Hampshire), Facility Upgrade

Safety Award: Duck Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant, Garland, Texas

Industrial Water Quality Achievement Award: Bongards Creameries, Perham, Minnesota

Yvonne Bolton, bureau chief of materials management for the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, received a 2021 Environmental Merit Award for Lifetime Achievement from the U.S. EPA.

Tanner Hanson, Yankton Wastewater Treatment Plant superintendent, received the South Dakota Water Environment Association’s Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers (5S) Award after two years as the group’s president.

Dr. Z. Jason Ren, a professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Princeton University, received the 2021 Paul L. Busch Award from the Water Research Foundation. The $100,000 prize will go toward his development of an inventory and digital tools to measure and track greenhouse gas emissions from the wastewater sector.

After 45 years of service Jamie Stone, wastewater treatment plant supervisor, retired from the Western Clinton County (Pennsylvania) Municipal Authority.

Clinton Farley was named superintendent of the Almont (Michigan) Wastewater Treatment Plant, succeeding his father, Mark Farley, who retired after serving 32 years at the plant, 29 as superintendent.

TPO welcomes your contributions to Worth Noting. To recognize members of your team, please send notices of new hires, promotions, certifications, service milestones or achievements as well as event notices to editor@tpomag.com. 


Jan. 10-12

WEF Forum 2022 – Particles and Colloids – the Next Frontier in Intensifying Water Resource Recovery, Embassy Suites, Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Visit www.wef.org/Forum.

Like something? Hate something? Agree? Disagree?

Share your opinions about TPO articles through our Letters to the Editor. Send a note to editor@tpomag.com


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.