Worth Noting - July 2017

People/Awards; Events

Interested in Education/Training?

Get Education/Training articles, news and videos right in your inbox! Sign up now.

Education/Training + Get Alerts


James Elmore was promoted to director of wastewater treatment and water reclamation for the city of Rockledge, Florida. He began with the city in 1980 and was assistant director for 22 years. Alan LaDuke retired from the director’s post after 37 years with the city.

Tony Wood, wastewater superintendent for the town of Osgood and system operator for Friendship Regional Sewer District, received the Wastewater System Operations Specialist of the Year award from Alliance of Indiana Rural Water.

David Lawrence was named the general manager of the Big Bear Area Wastewater Agency in California. He had been city engineer and Public Works director for the city of Big Bear Lake.

Corey Brooks, utilities crew leader for the city of Brighton, received the Wastewater Operations Specialist of the Year award from the Michigan Rural Water Association.

The Rhinelander Water and Wastewater Treatment Plant received the Laboratory of the Year award from the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources for the work of Jody Flannery, who has been an environmental laboratory technician for 24 years.

HDR’s Edith Hadler was named principal program delivery manager for wastewater. Based in the office in Bellevue, Washington, she will facilitate partnerships with offices to continue expanding the company’s wastewater program. She is a professional engineer with more than 25 years’ industry experience, 14 with HDR.

Steve Carroll, wastewater superintendent for the village of LeRoy, received the Uhl T. Mann Operations Award from the New York Water Environment Association for facilities treating less than 50 mgd.

The North Bay Wastewater Treatment Facility received the Wastewater Facility Award from the Florida Department of Environmental Protection.

The city of Mountain Iron (Minnesota) named Tyrel Hebl lead water/wastewater operator and Tim Satrang director of Public Works.

Mark LeClair, Public Works director for the city of Paxton, received the Wastewater System Operations Specialist of the Year award from the Illinois Rural Water Association.

Mike Norris, manager of water quality for the city of Tyler, received The Daniel C. Allen Memorial Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Water Utilities Association.

The Quonset Development Corporation Wastewater Treatment Facility in North Kingston, Rhode Island, received an Excellence Award from the U.S. EPA.

Clay Duffie, general manager of Mount Pleasant Waterworks, received the William T. Linton Service Award from the Water Environment Association of South Carolina.

Spartanburg (South Carolina) Water received eight Silver, Gold and Platinum Peak Performance awards for permit compliance from the National Association of Clean Water Agencies.

Travis Hays was appointed head of the water and wastewater departments in David City, Nebraska, replacing Kevin Betzen.

The city of Stayton was honored for the Best Surface Water in Oregon for 2017 by the Oregon Association of Water Utilities.

Stanley Shaffer, chief operator of the city of Oneonta Water Treatment Plant, received the 2017 Operators Meritorious Service Award from the New York Section AWWA.

The Kenosha (Wisconsin) Water Utility received the Grand Award from the American Council of Engineering Companies for its Energy Optimized Resource Recovery Project.

The Prince William County (Virginia) Service Authority community outreach program received the Education and Public Service Award from the Universities Council on Water Resources for its efforts in the classroom and community in 2016-’17.

The Cucamonga Valley Water District received the Collections System of the Year award from the California Wastewater Environment Association Santa Ana River Basin region, in the category for medium-sized collections systems (250 to 500 miles).

The Concord General Services Wastewater Treatment Division received the 2017 Outstanding Public Outreach Award from the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services.

Marshall Municipal Utilities received the Plant of the Year award from the Missouri Water Environment Association in the 5 mgd or less category.

Rebecca Lewis, wastewater division manager with the city of Wichita, Kansas, received a 2017 Excellence in Public Service Award from the DeVore Foundation.

Several city of Columbia drinking water and wastewater employees were honored at the 2017 South Carolina Environmental Conference:

  • Clint Shealy, director of utility operations, Herman F. Wiedeman Award for contributions to the drinking water industry, from the South Carolina Chapter AWWA
  • Jill Martinez, laboratory analyst, and Chris Williams, drinking water operator, SCAWWA Top Ops Quiz Bowl
  • Ashley Dove, wastewater maintenance manager, Golden Manhole Award from the Water Environment Association of South Carolina
  • Melissa Engle, laboratory analyst, received the WEASC Laboratory Analyst of the Year award
  • Sarah Hickman, wastewater laboratory manager; Rachel Furtick, laboratory analyst; Candace Mathis, wastewater operator; and Engle, second place, Process Control Event, Operations Challenge

Hickman was named chair of the WEASC Laboratory Committee; Ketki Sheth, drinking water laboratory manager, serves as co-chair.

Derek Albertson, MPA, of Aquarion Water Company, was named superintendent and chief operator of the New Hartford (Connecticut) Water Pollution Control Facility. He was also appointed by Arnold-Hanafin Corporation as a technical adviser for the wastewater treatment plant at the United Technologies Aerospace Systems facility in Windsor Locks, Connecticut.

Todd Kellison was named Lab Technician of the Year by the Virginia Rural Water Association. He is assistant superintendent for the town of Luray Wastewater Treatment Plant.


July 9-12: Kentucky-Tennessee Section AWWA Annual Conference, Lexington, Kentucky. Visit www.kytnawwa.org.

July 12: Joint Water Resources and Infrastructure Climate Resiliency Specialty Conference and Exhibit, presented by the New England Water Works Association and the New England Chapter American Public Works Association, UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, Lowell, Massachusetts. Visit www.newea.org.

July 16-19: Georgia Section AWWA Annual Conference. Visit www.gawwa.org.

July 20-21: Central States Water Environment Association CSX 2017, Kalahari Resort, Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin. Visit www.cswea.org or email ahaque@cswea.org.

July 20-21: Nebraska Wastewater Operators Division Heartland Conference 2017, Holiday Inn Convention Center, Kearney. Visit www.nebwea.org.

July 23-27: International Water Association IWA Reuse 2017, Long Beach (California) Convention Center. Visit iwareuse2017.org.

July 25-27: AWWA 2017 Summer Workshop, Holiday Inn Denver-Cherry Creek. Visit www.awwa.org.


Comments on this site are submitted by users and are not endorsed by nor do they reflect the views or opinions of COLE Publishing, Inc. Comments are moderated before being posted.